Frequently Asked Questions
1) What are the requirements to obtain a concealed carry permit in Louisiana?
Please go to the Louisiana State Police website for the most up-to-date information regarding requirements.
2) What do I need to bring to class?
~ Semi-automatic or revolver (handgun of choice) in good working condition.
~100 rounds of ammunition (factory ammunition only- no reloads)
~Eye and Ear protection
~Holster (if available)
~Please wear clothing that can get wet or dirty. (Shooting will be done outdoors unless otherwise specified)
3) How long is the class?
The Louisiana State Police Handgun Permit Unit mandates a specific 9 hour curriculum which is one of the requirements to obtain a concealed
carry permit. We follow this stringent curriculum.
Course Syllabus (This course fulfills the Louisiana State Police requirement)
1) Pistol Knowledge and Safe Gun Handling
2) Child and Unauthorized Person Access Prevention
3) Ammunition Knowledge and the Fundamentals of Pistol Shooting
4) The Use of Deadly Force and Conflict Resolution
5) Handgun Shooting Positions
6) Range Firing and Pistol Cleaning
Each Student Must:
A. Hit the silhouette area of a B-27 target 36 times in 36 attempts; 12 rounds each at 6 feet, 10 feet, and 15 feet, while performing at least 1 safe reload at each distance.
B. Receive an acceptable score on a Basic Pistol Shooting Course examination.
C. Receive a passing score on an examination covering child access prevention, conflict resolution, and applicable Louisiana Law.
4) What is the cost of the class?
Contact us for pricing
5) How do I register for the class?
Click on the Contact Us link for information or click on the Class Registration link to send us an e-mail.
6) What types of handguns can be used in the class?
Any revolver or semi-automatic pistol that is in good working condition.
7) Where do I get an application for the CCW permit?
There is a copy of the application on our Forms and Documents link. The application can also be downloaded from the Louisiana State Police
8) What if I need to renew my existing permit?
The state requires a person to re-take the course.
9) How old do I have to be to take the course?
The course is available for any age but you must be at least 21 years old to apply for a CCW pemit. Parents must attend the course as well for any
person attending that is under 18 years of age. This is a basic NRA course that can be beneficial to anyone old enough to handle a
Concealed Carry Basics- Expert advice on one of the most important decisions you'll ever make.
-Excerpt from an article by Dave Spaulding that appeared in Guns & Ammo Magazine
"The decision to carry a weapon concealed should not be taken lightly. For some, such as law enforcement officers or members of certain military units, carrying a covert handgun is just part of the job. But for the legally armed citizen, it is a choice that should be made only after careful consideration.
Carrying a firearm on one's person is a lifestyle commitment. I have no idea how many times I have heard a person who has applied for their concealed carry permit say: "Oh, I won't actually shoot anybody. I just want to have the gun to scare them away." This person has made a huge mistake. Criminals see you as a means to an end, not as a human being with feelings and family. They will hurt or kill you in less time than it just took you to read this paragraph.
The fact is, a handgun fight is quick, close, pandemonium-filled and bloody, and anyone who is considering carrying a handgun for such purposes must ask himself if he is up to the task of close-quarters combat. If not, then the gun will likely be used against him when he draws it to try to scare away an attacker. Over the last 30 years (seven of which were spent working in the county jail), I have spoken with my share of criminals, and the one thing I can assure you is that they are not afraid of guns but are afraid of the willing person with a gun. And trust me--they know the difference between the willing and those who posture."